These are a few of my favorite things

Just a few of my favorite things from the Pacific Northwest…..people and places. Just a few. The next trip we take back there I will have a lot more to add.

Some Texas favorites will come soon!

6280477480_c6593ac0b8_z

Mountains!! You don’t realize how much you take for granted until you move somewhere FLAT!! Texas is gorgeous in its random quirky ways, but where we are is so flat. When we flew into Portland I almost cried seeing the mountains. They are just awe inspiring and majestic……living there, you tend to overlook them, but once they are gone, you realize just how amazing they are and how lucky you were to get to grow up with them!

6280375395_613c8320dc_z

PORTLAND!! Portland is just a hot mess but I adore it. it is fun and funky and so so weird. The most favorite store of mine is Powell’s bookstore. It is like 3 levels, HUGE and CHEAP!! You can get a brand new book with a dime size coffee stain for just a few dollars. Pennies basically. They have sheet music (my husband loves) and all kinds of other things.  Another radness is COFFEE of course 🙂

6280850456_43c0d632de_z

When we went to Oregon a few years ago the Powell’s parking garage was full and we could not find a spot so we found this rad yarn store. It was the highlight of my day!! I love funky yarn shops. I also love the yarn bombed tree 😀 Makes me want to yarn bomb things. I think I just love Portland because everyone is themselves and no one judges you.

 

 

6284160059_08d0e03f3d_z

 

The most awesome daddio EVER!! My dad, he is Pacific Northwest forever. My dad is strong and smart, funny and wise, patient and positive. He hunts (and calls Texan hunters pansies) and loves to go pick amazing chanterelle mushrooms. He can grow anything, he has a garden and loads of fruit trees and so many gorgeous flowers. And my gorgeous sisters ❤ I miss them but am so proud of how good they are all doing.

6284110507_d8e3884c16_z

 

Family!! I have ten aunts and uncles just on my dads side. That equals a crap ton of cousins and second cousins. they all live in the Pacific Northwest. I just adore my family and am always so proud of them. We don’t keep in touch very well but we can always pick up where we left off, even if we hadn’t seen each other in years. Family is oh so precious!!

 

6280620395_70be3d5f63_z

 

Pastor Ken, he gets his own shout out. Pastor Ken was my grandpa’s pastor at Robert Gray Baptist Church, when my grandpa died I decided to get my life together and get my butt back into church. Pastor Ken was the one and only person that I told about the drugs and partying I was doing. he held me accountable and didn’t judge me. When I met Matthew and we wanted to get married he counseled us, when we lost our first son Ryley to a miscarriage at 13 weeks, he consoled us. He is an amazing listening ear and advice giver, he is super funny and patient, he is wise and fun and laid back, he is so easy to be around. Oh I miss Pastor Ken!!

 

6281184714_e39c61a209_z 6281204852_017c3744f3_b This mimosa tree is the baby of the mimosa tree that I fell in love with as a child. It was big and had a thick trunk that I used to climb and sit in. It blooms the most pretty pink flowers. My dad had to cut that one down and this one started growing in its place! Mimosa trees hold a special place in my heart, they are in Texas as well but this one is extra special to me.

6280857397_4eaa5ebac3_b

 

6280851279_bdf58a3873_b

 

I have more pictures to add but I will close with this. My son. Ryley J. Our first pregnancy. Our first baby. He is buried up on a hill at a cemetery in Kelso, WA. I think of him often. I always wonder if he would have been the baby that ended up actually looking like me. I wonder what his laugh would have sounded like. If he would have loved gaming like Trevor, or sports, or outdoors, or what. Anyways a huge piece of my heart will always lie in the Pacific Northwest because my precious child is buried there.

The Pacific Northwest is rainy and gray, but the coffee is good and the people will welcome you into their family. The relationships are deep and lasting once you can break through peoples hard shells. The scenery is to die for, the coast will leave you speechless. There is so much to see and do, you will never get bored. Except for in the rainy season. If you can find successful work there, it is a place to set roots and never leave.

 

 

4 thoughts on “These are a few of my favorite things

Leave a Reply

